UO Sports Notes

by Frank Baldwin October 27, 2015



ON THE AIR, Thursday
National Television: ESPN with Joe Tessitore (pxp) & Jesse Palmer (analyst) & Kaylee Hartung (reporter). Radio: Oregon IMG with Jerry Allen (pxp), Mike Jorgensen (analyst). Satellite Radio: Sirius 84, XM 84.

•Oregon leads the all-time series with Arizona State 17-16 with the Ducks winning eight straight and 12 of the last 15, dating to 1998. UO has also won the last seven meetings in Tempe, averaging 47.6 points per game in the process.
•The Ducks and Sun Devils last met during the 2012 season with Oregon winning 43-21 in Tempe.

•SO RB Royce Freeman has scored at least one TD in 17 of his 21 career games.
•Freeman leads the nation in rushes of 10 or more yards with 36. The sophomore heads into the Arizona State game fourth in rushing yards per game (142.43), while ranking seventh in the country in total rushing yards (997).
•With three yards, Freeman can become just the fourth Oregon running back to rush for 1,000 yards in back-to-back seasons joining Maurice Morris (2000, 2001), Onterrio Smith (2001, 2002) and LaMichael James (2009, 2010, 2011)
•JR WR Bralon Addison caught his 13th career touchdown pass in Oregon’s loss to Washington State. Addison needs five more TD catches to tie Lew Barnes (1983-85) and Ahmad Rashad (1969-71) for ninth all-time at Oregon.
•SR QB Vernon Adams Jr. has thrown a TD in 30 straight games, including eight games with five or more touchdowns. Adams brought a 26-game streak with him from Eastern Washington and has added TD passes in the first four games he has played as a Duck. He did have a 27-game streak with multiple TD passes snapped at Michigan State when he threw for one TD.
•Oregon hasn’t allowed an opponent to return a kickoff for a touchdown in 123 games. UO’s last opponent to score on a kickoff return was Arizona State on Sept. 30, 2006. 

Fans and media are encouraged to use the hashtag #UOvsASU when posting social media content related to the game between the Ducks and the Sun Devils.

2 - Rushing touchdowns Royce Freeman needs to crack the career top five at Oregon.  
3 - Rushing yards needed by Royce Freeman to reach the 1,000-yard mark for the second straight season. 
49 - Receiving yards Dwayne Stanford needs to reach 1,000-career yards.
184 - Rushing yards needed by Royce Freeman to pass Ricky Whittle (1992-95) for seventh on the career rushing list at Oregon.



PAC-12 Cross Country Championships!


The Pac-12 Championships signal the beginning of the 2015 postseason for the Oregon cross country teams. The Pac-12 meet will take place Friday, Oct. 30 at Colfax Golf Club in Colfax, Wash. The men’s 8,000 meter race starts at 10:30 a.m. with the women’s 6,000 meter race going off at 11:35 a.m.

As usual, the Pac-12 meet will be among the top among the conference championships this weekend. The women’s race is arguably the best in the country this season with four of the nation’s top 12 teams vying for the title: No. 3 Colorado, No. 5 Oregon, No. 10 Stanford and No. 12 Washington. The women have an experienced group headed to the Palouse with seniors Molly Grabill, Annie Leblanc, Abbey Leonardi, Waverly Neer and Brianna Nerud, juniors Ashley Maton and Maggie Schmaedick, sophomores Frida Berge, Alli Cash and Emma Abrahamson, and freshmen Sarah Baxter and Jessica Hull.

The men’s field includes six ranked teams, including top-ranked Colorado and No. 3 Oregon. The men have two-time defending NCAA Champion Edward Cheserek leading the way. He’ll be backed by a seasoned squad that includes seniors Chris Brewer, Ryan Gil and Matthew Melancon, junior Jake Leingang, sophomores Jackson Darland, Bryan Fernandez, Blake Haney, Travis Neuman and Sam Prakel, and freshmen Tanner Anderson and Matthew Maton.


Edward Cheserek has the opportunity to become the first man ever to win three consecutive Pac-12 individual titles. Two runners own three career Pac-12 cross country titles, Steve Prefontaine of Oregon (1970-71, ’73) and Henry Rono of Washington State (1976, 78-79), but neither won three consecutively.

The women of Oregon return all five runners who scored at the 2014 Pac-12 Championships, which was won by the Ducks. That includes Frida Berge (eighth), Waverly Neer (tenth), Molly Grabill (11th), Alli Cash (12th) and Maggie Schmaedick (15th). The Duck women have not won back-to-back titles since 1990-91.

Time: 10:30 a.m. PT
Length: 8,000 Meters
Live Stream: None
Twitter: @OregonTF / @pac12 / @WSUCougarTF
TV: Pac-12 Networks delayed broadcast, Monday, Nov. 3, 6 p.m. PT.
Results: http://rtspt.com/events/pac12/xc2015/ / www.goducks.com


Time: 11:35 a.m. PT
Length: 6,000 Meters
Live Stream: None
Twitter: @OregonTF / @pac12 / @WSUCougarTF
TV: Pac-12 Networks delayed broadcast, Monday, Nov. 3, 6 p.m. PT.
Results: http://rtspt.com/events/pac12/xc2015/ / www.goducks.com OREGON IN THE PAC-12 CHAMPIONSHIPS

The Men of Oregon have won 16 Pac-12 championships, with the last one coming in 2008. The Ducks have been the runners-up to Colorado the last two seasons. Oregon has had an individual champion 14 times, including Edward Cheserek in 2014-15. Cheserek is one of three Ducks to have won back-to-back Pac-12 titles (Steve Prefontaine, 1970-71, Jim Hill,  1982-83). The Women of Oregon have won nine league titles, including two of the last three (2012, 2014). The Duck women have had eight individual titles in their history with the last being Jordan Hasay in 2010.

The place of the first five finishers counts toward the team score. The next two runners may displace runners from opposing teams. First place is worth one point, second place two points, etc. Low score wins.

Edward Cheserek will be looking to become the first man in Pac-12 history to win three consecutive Pac-12 titles. Cheserek has won 10 of his last 12 cross country races, as well as 11 of 15 career starts overall. Cheserek has never finished lower than fourth in a collegiate cross country competition

Held at Colfax Golf Club, the women’s course will include three loops of approximately 2,000 meters each. The men’s course will include four 2,000-meter loops. The course consists of straight fairways, no elevation gain and broad easy turns.





The University of Oregon's home football game on Nov. 7 has been selected for a national television broadcast on either ESPN or ESPN2 at 7:30 p.m. PST. As part of the festivities surrounding the Nov. 7 game day experience, Otis Day and The Knights will perform in the Moshofsky Center, located adjacent to Autzen Stadium, starting at approximately 4:30 p.m.

Additionally, Otis Day will read the starting lineups prior to kickoff at Autzen Stadium and be present during the traditional playing of the hit song "Shout" during the break between the third and fourth quarters.


Once more - here's that great UO Animal House "SHOUT":  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOEgDbdjj2s

The game against the Golden Bears will be the Ducks' first home contest in nearly a month as they seek their first Pac-12 win at Autzen this season. It will be UO's third straight appearance and fifth overall this season on the ESPN family of networks.

An additional appearance by Otis Day at an upcoming men's basketball game will be announced at a later date.

Frank Baldwin
Frank Baldwin


Also in News

Cougar Game

by Frank Baldwin September 30, 2016

Read More

Big Basketball News + Football

by Frank Baldwin September 22, 2016

Read More

Helfrich Post Game Interview

by Frank Baldwin September 20, 2016

Read More